Spending virtually every day of my summer (and the past two before this year’s) at school luxuriating in the summer-borne stillness of the 9th floor practice room floor, it’s almost painful to see the influx of new students and the beginning of the fall season.

This particular year, however, feels different with the anticipation of graduate school auditions, a new violin, and a new teacher. I felt a little lost this summer, amid all the repertoire I should have (and didn’t really) learned, but I definitely learned about violins throughout my violin search and performed quite a bit..

Let’s talk about some things that are definitely awesome about being a senior at NYU, though:

I ONLY HAVE TO BUY ONE TEXTBOOK –

Course Aisle ISBN Title Author Publisher R/O Price Stock On Order Order Quantity
E85.0092005 ****** No materials requested ******
E85.1045026 ****** No materials requested ******
E85.1071001 ****** No materials requested ******
E85.1075002 ****** No materials requested ******
E85.1080001 ****** No materials requested ******
E85.1087002 ****** No materials requested ******
E85.1229001 ****** No materials requested ******
E85.1465002 6,7 9780195099379 BASIC TECHNIQUES OF CONDUCTING PHILLIPS OXFORD UNIVERSITY PRESS R 65.95 17 0
H95.1906002 ****** No materials requested ******

My class schedule…..wait, I have classes?? I’m registered for violin lessons, Alexander Technique, Program Meeting, Conducting, Orchestra, Creating a Career as a Musician (hahahahahahahahahaha), Jazz Improv for Instrumentalists, and Acting (ha). Radically different from my normal schedule….

Otherwise, maybe there aren’t that many perks to being a senior at this school.. in fact, getting completely screwed over with my financial aid was definitely not a fun thing – NYU tries to drop your aid when you’re close to 128 credits (my degree requirements are more, but never mind that), and after much arguing with the bursar and sweet talk with the financial aid office and about 20402194714970 emails/forms later, it was all cleared up.

It would have been interesting to graduate with part of a degree. Jerks.

