A couple of months ago, NYU Symphony played Anton Webern’s arrangement of J.S. Bach’s six-voiced Ricercar from “A Musical Offering”. Initially, this (along with my exposure to Webern’s Five Movements for String Quartet) sent me on a quest to listen to everything Webern wrote, not necessarily the most demanding task in terms of time spent on the task (at least, compared to the Messaien discography I obtained at around the same time). However, I’m pretty sure that I didn’t really understand a lot of it on a musical level, because of the density of his writing. Some day, I need to sit with a score and come to the same sort of understanding that Noam reached with Webern’s Five Movements.

Anyway, The Musical Offering is a comparably complex set of ricercars (fugues) and canons – the order in which they are supposed to be played is uncertain. The Youtube compilation below plays them in this order:

1. Ricercar a 3
2. Canon 1 a 2 cancrizans
3. Canon 2 a 2 violini in unisono
4. Canon 3 a 2 per motum contrarium
5. Canon 4 a 2 per augmentationem, contrario motu
6. Canon 5 a 2 per tonos
7. Canon 6 Fuga canonica in Epidiapente
8. Sonata for flute, violin and continuo over Thema Regium: Largo
9. Sonata for flute, violin and continuo over Thema Regium: Allegro
10. Sonata for flute, violin and continuo over Thema Regium: Andante
11. Sonata for flute, violin and continuo over Thema Regium: Allegro
12. Canon 7 Perpetuus super Thema Regium
13. Canon 8 Perpetuus per motum contrarium
14. Canon 9 a 2 “Quaerendo Invenietis”
15. Canon 10 a 4
16. Ricercar a 6

(1)
(2-7)
(8)
(9)
(10-11)
(12-15)
(16)

So badass…!

—-
Yesterday, I slept for about 19 hours.. Today, I probably shouldn’t do that.

I have a lot of old clothing that I need to get rid of, and I have a lot of books that I’m never going to read. I feel bad that I’m probably going to sell a bunch of books I will never read, but I feel like working and doing everything else I’m supposed to do has permanently stifled my ability to read without nodding off.

Also, I have a broken, useless iPod. Blah, so much junk..

