I talked to a violinist named Jake on the phone a week ago or so, who gave me a ton of Transylvanian gypsy bands to listen to, including Taraf de Haidouks, Scaszcsavas Band, Efti Sandor.

Here are my favorites so far:


(from a Taraf de Haidouks playlist I found)

(……I’ve basically listened to this band for a straight week..)

Also, my friend Allison (who is way into Middle Eastern dance) sent me some of these videos recently.


Oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Also, the F train owned the shit out of me last night.

The Brooklyn-bound F randomly goes to Hoyt-Schmmerhorn (becoming the C) late at night because of renovations, so I transferred to a G that I thought was re-routed (they extend the G to make up for the F not running to Coney Island) and it actually wasn’t rerouted. They stopped at their last stop and I had to wait in the cold at 1AM for the F train to come to Smith and 9th Street… T_T.
Rough night….

